



Global Disaster Policy

May 15, 2018 9:30-13:30 Kostis Palamas Hall, Akadimias 48, Athens, Greece



Venue Programme (09:30-13:30)

Welcome by Vice Rector Professor K. Buraselis

Welcome by Ms Artemis Zenetou, Executive Director of Fulbright Foundation Greece

Welcome by Associate Professor Maria Gazouli, President of the Greek Association of Fulbright Scholars

Introduction by the organizers: Profs. Vasiliki Kouskouna (NKUA) and Patricia Bodelson (SCSU)

Keynote Lectures (10:00-12:00) Dr. Vasiliki Kouskouna, Associate Professor of Seismology: **An Earthquake in Athens?**

Konstantinos Holevas, Civil Engineer, MSc: Comparing Disasters and Consequences

Konstantinos Photiou MD, MSc: <u>Amphictyony: a Disaster Management</u> <u>Master Plan of an Attica municipality</u>

Tabletop Exercise (12:00-13:00)

Wrap up and Concluding Remarks (13:00-13:30)

Coordination: Professor Patricia Bodelson

Mission Statement

The mission of the simulation is to analyze the NIMS unifying paradigm vis a vis global disasters. The cooperative international venue expands continuity of implementation and intergovernmental cooperation. Moreover, the approach incorporates experiential pedagogy to optimize cognitive mastery. This exercise is an outgrowth of an alliance between St. Cloud State University and the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. This initial event is the foundation of an ongoing and flourishing academic collaboration.

This event is initiated by Vasiliki Kouskouna (NKUA) and Patricia Bodelson (SCSU)

Saint Cloud State University Student Roles

(Alphabetical order by last name)

Laura Becker- Community Unit

Logan Catton- Incident Commander

Brooke Feddema- Logistics Section Chief

Madelyn Jansky- Medical Unit

Jaidyn Koch- Strike Team

Rachel Lahr- Food Unit

Nicholas Lengyel-Liaison Officer

Kirsten Mikos- Compensation Claims Unit

Isabelle Miller- Task Force

Jasmine Miller- Support Branch

Victoria Navarre- Supply Unit

Randi Schaust- Service Branch Assistant

Matthew Schnettler- Operations Section Chief

Cameron Sundberg- Service Branch Chief

Taylor Thompson- Public Information Officer

Cailey Titrud- Planning Section Chief

Serena Wrobel- Finance/Administration Section

The students and faculty at St. Cloud State University give our sincerest thanks and appreciation to everyone who has helped make this incredible experience possible.

